Tuy Loan Communal House
The Tuy Loan Communal House is located in Tuy Loan Village, Hoa Phong Commune, Hoa Vang District. This house was built in the late 18th century and rebuilt in the year of Mau Ty (1988).
Tuy Loan Communal House is used to worship the village tutelary god and bygone and recent time sages. In the old days, the people held a ceremony at the house to welcome spring on the 14th and 15th of the second month of the lunar calendar and autumn on the 14th and 15th of the eighth month of the lunar calendar. At present, Tuy Loan Communal House is unique in that it preserves 15 honors dating from Minh Mangs Reign and Bao Dais Reign.
The house covers an area of 110m² with brick walls and a pantile roof. It is decorated with two dragons flanking a moon and flying dragons encrusted with shards of pottery. The interior has three sections and there are two lean-tos, the rear one of which is 2.4m wide and 2.7m long. It has four rows of jack tree wood pillars, each of which has six pillars from 2.5 to 4.5m high. The structure of the rafters is patterned after Chong ruong Gia thu. The pillars against the walls are carved with stylized floral designs and their bases are decorated with pumpkin shapes. At the two sides, the roof beams are decorated with a dragons head, and the tie beams of floating clouds, daisies and peonies reflecting their artistic value.
In the resistance war against the French, Tuy Loan Communal House was the place where the local people and those in the neighboring villages of Ba Ban and Cam Toai held a demonstration and usurped the power of the district chief of Hoa Vang in August 1945. In the anti – American war (1957-1975), the puppet government of Ngo Dinh Diem made this house a place for betraying and executing communists. Accordingly, it was the place where the local people rose to oppose the Americans and the Diem government. On 4th January 1999, the communal house was recognized as a historical and cultural relic by the Ministry of Culture and Information.