Tran Hung Dao Temple
The Tran Hung Dao Temple is at 36 Vo Thi Sau Street, District 1. It was first erected in 1932 as a Buddhist pagoda bearing the name of Van An. In 1958, it was entirely rebuilt, featuring the architecture seen today, forming a T-shape with two-piled up roofs and eight curved corners adorned with dragon and phoenix figures.
It is styled after northern Vietnamese temples and communal houses. Inside, there are many horizontal and vertical lacquered boards, as well as carved and meticulously inlaid incense tables. On the wall, there are pictures of Tran Hung Dao as he chased away Kublai Khanâs Mongol aggressors in the 13th century.
The greatest ceremonies at the temple occur over the New Year and on the 20th day of the eighth lunar month to celebrate Tran Hung Dao. The temple is open daily from 6 to 11am and from 2 to 6 pm.