Hue Royal Fine Arts Museum
The Hue Royal Fine Arts Museum is located on 3 Le Truc Street, Hue City. This museum is a gallery of antiques displaying collections of bronze, pottery, chinaware, Phap Lam enamel, court robes, head-gear and personal belongings of former Vietnam Emperors. It is a 7-compartment, 2-bay building constructed in the “double” architecture, originally called the Long An Palace (Emperor’s Security) in the Bao Dinh Residence of Tay Loc precinct. When French troops took Bao Dinh Residence for their headquarters in 1885, Long An Palace was removed and materials were stored. But, in 1909, by order of Emperor Duy Tan, they were moved to the present-day site (3 Le Truc St.) It served later as the Khai Dinh Museum in Emperor Khai Dinh’s time, in 1923. The building (former Long An Palace) housing the museum is a monument of remarkable value. The wooden panels are covered with 35 poems and essays composed by Emperor Thieu Tri.