Built in 1866 by His Majesty Preah Bat Norodom, the Royal Palace is now home to His Majesty Preah Reach Akka-Mohesey Norodom Monineath Sihanouk. Most of the buildings inside the palace are closed to the public, except for special occasions. Recently, the coronation Hall, where Their Majesties received foreign dignitaries and high government officials, was opened to the public to see its many treasures. At the entrance to the palace grounds is the open-air theatre where the Royal Ballet perform for the Their Majesties and their guests. Also within the palace walls is the Silver Pagoda, which draws its name from the 5,000 silver tiles that pave its floor. Inside the pagoda there are hundreds of gifts to Cambodian king, including a solidgold Buddha encrusted with 9,584 diamonds weighing 90 kilograms.
It is located between 184th Street and 240th Street, was built in 1866 by the French. The entry is at the Samdech Sothearos Boulevard, formerly Lenin Boulevard, not far from the banks of the Tonle Sap river.
The royal Palace is built on the site of the Banteay Kev, a citadel built in 1813. The Palace grounds contain several buildings: the Throne Room of Prasat Tevea Vinichhay which is used for the coronation of kings, official receptions and traditional ceremonies; the Chan Chhaya Pavilion which is a venue for dance performances; the king’s official residence called the Khemarin; the Napoleon Pavilion and the spectacular Silver Pagoda.
Among various buildings within the walls the Throne Hall ranks as most important. This Khmer-style building was erected only in 1917. It is used only on special occasions. Attached to the Throne Hall is a tower, 59 metres high. The walls surrounding the compound which is the oldest part of the palace, are covered with frescos depicting scenes from the Khmer version of the Ramayana.